Soul Song

Take my words and their rhythm 
The emotion in them and the meaning hidden ,
Take my thoughts and my time
All my goodness, all my crimes.

If it pleases so
Peel my skin, gouge out my eyes 
Take my blood and take my bones
My double helix DNA 
and my XY chromosomes.

If they do not turn out to be enough 
Take my puckered heart 
and my heaving lungs,
Take my poisoned kidneys
and the liver burnt
If it pleases you, then please do so.

But it is my soul that you cannot ask for
And it is my soul that I shall not give,
For rest of all is yours for the taking
But my soul is not for me to give.

 

Leave a Reply

